Govt places 172 on ECL mentioned in fake accounts JIT.

The government has placed all 172 suspects named the Joint Investigation Team report regarding fake bank accounts case on the Exit Control List.

The initiative has been taken in light of federal cabinet’s decision at its meeting on Thursday.

The prominent names placed on the ECL, include PPP Co-Chairman Asif Ali Zardari, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, PPP leader Faryal Talpur, Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah, former Chief Minister Sindh Syed Qaim Ali Shah, Sindh Minister Imtiaz Ahmed Shaikh, Members Sindh Assembly, Ali Nawaz Mehar, Mukesh Chawla, and Sohail Anwar Siyal.

Names of Abdul Ghani Majid, Ali Kamal Majid, Anwar Majid Khawaja, Muhammad Asad Ali, Muhammad Arif Khan, Muhammad Hassan Brohi, Mustafa Zulquernain Majid, Nazli Majid, Nimr Majid Khawaja of Omni Group have also been placed on the ECL.

Malik Riaz of Bahria Town too has been barred from travelling abroad.

President Summit Bank Hussain Lawai, President National Bank of Pakistan Syed Ali Raza, Manager Sindh Bank Ms Sarwat Azeem and Muhammad Mukhtar Ahmed, Group Head Credit Sindh Bank Nadeem Altaf, Head Corporate National Bank of Pakistan Nadeem Anwar Ilyas and Zaheer Ismail of Summit Bank have also been put on ECL.

Secretary Industries Syed Zameer Haider, Additional Secretary Finance Nisar Ahmed Shaikh, Acting Chairman SECP Tahir Mahmood and Executive Director SECP Abid Hussain are also among those, whose names have been placed on the Exit Control List.