COVID19 – Developing Update- New Variant – B.1.1.529 – Omicron

The new COVID19 variant is detected – mainly in Southern African countries.

The World Health Organization says that preliminary evidence suggests that a new Covid variant carries a higher risk of reinfection than other variants.

The variant, currently known as B.1.1.529, has been identified in South Africa, Botswana, Belgium, Hong Kong and Israel.

It has designated it a variant of concern and given it the name: Omicron.

EU member states have agreed to bring in rapid travel restrictions on all travel into the EU from seven countries in southern Africa after the emergence of a new variant in the region.

1- Botswana
2- Eswatini
3- Lesotho
4- Mozambique
5- Namibia
6- South Africa
7- Zimbabwe

Covid tests, quarantine and contact tracing for incoming passengers are important.

We are monitoring the developments and will keep you posted.